Papa Wemba – Congo moko

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Music, Videos

For this month’s musical selection, I acted on impulse and waited till the last minute to pick a song. Actually what happened is that I was having a hard time making up my mind. Yesterday, I was leaning toward “Africa Must Wake Up” by D. Marley and Nas, but this afternoon while strolling down my Facebook newsfeed page I came across a video posted by a friend.  Although I’d like to think of myself as a true fan of Papa Wemba, I have never heard of this song. It has instantly become one of my favorites from him.

The reason why I chose this particular number over the Distance Relative song, isn’t because Wemba’s song is lyrically better, I picked the song because it carries with it a homely sentiment that just makes you stop and backtrack on the olden days and time travel to a future full of possibilities. 

ENJOY … 

Leave a Reply

