Nneka : AFRICA IS THE FUTURE

Posted: August 21, 2011 in Music, Videos

So every week, I go on a mission and that is to hunt the net for news, updates on current affairs and of course find new songs and discover underground artists. Music is to me, like to many, a fuel that keeps the engine of my being running. Thus, I’m very particular to what kind of music I listen to. I strongly believe that we become what we put inside of us, whether orally, by sight or by hearing it. That’s why mainstream music isn’t really my cup of tea, it lacks originality and creativity, most importantly it lacks message. In everything you do or get yourself involved in, that thing must ultimately contribute to your personal growth, it must plant a seed that will blossom into something positive and beautiful. 

So this week, on my search, I did not discover any new artist or song, however I rediscovered an artist that  I had long forgotten about, Nneka.  Listening to her songs for a second time around really moved something within me, something that I lost touch of…my core. So I want to share with you one of my favorite from her, Africans and Heatbeat.

Africans

Lyrics:

U keep pushing the blame on our colonial fathers
U say they came and they took all we had pocessed
They have to take the abuse that they have caused our present state with their intruding history
Use our goodness and nourishment in the Name of missionary
Lied to us,blinded slaved us,misplaced us,strengthen us,hardened us then
they replaced us now we got to learn from pain
Now it is up to us to gain some recognition
If we stopp blaming we could get a better condition
Wake up world!!
Wake up and stop sleeping
Wake up africa!!
Wake up and stop blaming
Open ur eyes!!
Stand up and rise
Road block oh life penalty

Why do we want to remain where we started
And how long do we want to stop ourselves from thinking
We should learn from experience that what we are here for this existence
But now we decide to use the same hatred to oppress our own brothers
It is so comfortable to say racism is the cause
but this time it is the same colour chasing and biting us
Knowledge and selfishness that they gave to us,this is what we use to abuse us
Wake up world!!
Wake up and stop sleeping
Wake up africa!!
Wake up and stop blaming
Open ur eyes!!
Stand up and rise
Road block oh life penalty

Those who have ears let them hear
Brothers who are not brainwashed takt ruins and rest
Pick them up and stick them back together
This is the only way we can change this african weather
Lied to us,blinded slaved us,misplaced us,strengthen us,hardened us then
they replaced us now we got to learn from pain

Wake up world!!
Wake up and stop sleeping
Wake up africa!!
Wake up and stop blaming
Open ur eyes!!
Stand up and rise
Road block oh life penalty

you got to wake up please
youuuuu got tooo
(wake up africa wake up and stop blaming)
blaming ha ha ha
open yours eyes your eyes
stand up and riise
road block oh life penalty
wake up…

Pages: 1 2

Comments
  1. Fantastic views on that!

  2. renren876 says:

    Nice read. I have added this site to my favourites!

Leave a Reply

