Interview w/ Naveline

Posted: July 4, 2011 in Advice, General

Interview Conducted by Carmen Dibaya

Q:  What’s your full name?

Naveline Makela

Q: where do you currently reside?

        I have been in Canada for almost 13 years now. I have lived in Manitoba before, but I am currently living in Ontario.

Q: what part of the Congo did you live and if you’ve never been to the Congo which part of the country is your family from?

   I have lived in Kinshasa

Q: What is your current occupation?

Student, I studied business administration, but then again I majored in it because everyone said people that do business usually make a lot of money  once out of school. However, I am now planning on doing a program in what I really love, which is  fashion design, at George brown college.

Q: Are you involved with any Congolese based organization or groups?

if so What does the organization do?

No I am not actually, I feel like change has to start back home and not from abroad. But I still encourage sisters and brothers that want to make changes to do so.

Q: What made you become more involved in wanting to advocate for the cause of the Congo?

Your country is your identity, you can never reject it or denied it, and if you do its like losing a part of yourself. I remember when I was little I used to love going for summer vacation at my grandparents’ farm ( village), there I loved going for swims, I loved the fresh food and all the summer spent there were all great times. Sometimes I which I could go there again. However, with all the instability of the country (Congo), its almost impossible at the moment.

Nonetheless, those summer vacations spent at my grandparents’ farm and the memories from those summers is what really pushed me to speak out more about the Congo. This is because we have such a rich country with beautiful country sides, however, the constant instability and war is destroying our home and it is our responsibility to do everything in our power to restore the beauty that once was and still is Congo.

Q:  where do you see the Congo in 10 years?

In 10 years I see the Congo as a country making  progress, I say this because change does not come overnight, and we are now in the dark times but I believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Q: Do you think that the Congolese youth is motivate and have what it takes to change the situation of the Congo?

No,  I do not say this because we lack the resource, however, I’m saying no because  on certain Congolese groups on facebook I have noticed that the Congolese youth has a tendency of reacting faster to nonsense then to issues that really matter. This makes me wonder if even our generation will be the one that will make the change.

Q:  Are you planning on visiting/investing/ going back to live in the Congo in the future, if yes to any of this why?

 Yes I do, I will probably open a shop back home or a restaurant. One day🙂

Q: One word that describes you

Ambitious

Leave a Reply

